Discrimination by other means?

by

Tonight I went to an un-named bar. I was wearing a red poof ball hat. (think South Park) Upon entering the establishment I was instructed to remove my beanie. I asked why and was told that the following are not allowed: bandanas, dew-rags, beanies, and backward caps. I have no idea why. I almost told the bouncer to go-to-hell, but my friend was particularly thirsty and I retreated to comb my hair. It was a dive bar and my only speculation is that they wanted to harass groups that are known for wearing: bandanas, dew-rags, beanies and backward caps. Any thoughts on other reasons?

3 Responses to “Discrimination by other means?”

  1. Dave On Fire Says:

    I was recently in a local pub with my workmates when a bouncer came and told me to take my hat off. Had he stopped me at the door I’d probably have complied with the arbitrary rules but as I’d been drinking peacefully for 2 hours at this point I was not impressed.

    He was soon joined by the manager, who explained that hats were banned because they used by drug dealers. They apparently have a secret code, identifying what drug they sell by the colour of their hats. Personally, I too suspect that this was just a lame excuse for a nice bit of social apartheid.

  2. Foster Says:

    I was asked to leave a bar last weekend while wearing an old 40’s looking hat that matched my old 40’s looking suit. It’s mainly a power thing, it seems. I am reminded of Demetri Martin’s (www.demetrimartin.com) instructions on how to be a bouncer:

    1) Be a dick.
    2) Stand near door.

  3. wohnzimmer gestalten ideen bilder Says:

    Excellent post. I used to be checking constantly this blog and I am impressed!
    Extremely useful information specially the final
    section :) I take care of such info much. I used to be seeking this certain info for a long time.
    Thanks and best of luck.

Leave a Reply

